Happy New Year From Vancouver Island!!!


Hi all…it is 2014!! I would like to wish everyone a very Happy New Year! I for one cannot believe how fast last year went…it was all a bit of a whirlwind.

As you may or may not know, just after Christmas I had a holiday booked to Vancouver in Canada to attend my partner’s sister’s wedding. His dad and sister now live over here so we are quite lucky! As promised, I said that I would turn this into a bit of a travel blog (for the 3 weeks that we are here anyway). I know that I love seeing pictures and reading about travel destinations, so I thought that I would share some of my experiences with those of you that are interested :).

This trip got off to a bit of a difficult start as those of you from England will know that we are being flooded with heavy rain and strong winds (winds that will blow you out to sea!), and combined has not been too great for flying. To cut a long story short, we got here a day later after missing a connection flight in Amsterdam.

The day after our arrival was the day that we were making the 4 hour journey up to the Black Rock Oceanfront Resort in Ucluelet, British Columbia for the wedding. (http://www.blackrockresort.com) My my my….all I can describe this venue as is incredible. Right by the oceanfront surrounded by the forest with a slightly eco feel. There were three of us sharing a suite, which was more like a penthouse apartment, very large with each room being separate. Here are a few snaps:Image

The entrance lobby

Image

The view from the living room balcony.

Image

One very large rain shower (did not want to leave this bathroom!)

Image

I think you get the idea of how beautiful this bathroom was!

Image

The kitchen/dining/living area.

Image

Bedroom overlooking the tranquil forest.

Image

 The view from one of the hotel windows.

Image

Image

Image

 Yup, wouldn’t be complete without a hot tub overlooking Black Rock! Unfortunately, I was silly enough to forget my swimwear :(.

Image

Image

So, there you have it…a few of my snaps from my Black Rock Resort trip. If you are ever in BC and are looking for a little luxury night away, this is definitely the place to go. Today is New Years Day, so we are having a relaxation day, but keep your eyes peeled for tomorrows little outing!

Don’t forget to follow this blog to keep updated on new posts…their will be many coming your way!

Have a fantastic New Year! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year From Vancouver Island!!!

  1. What an incredible place! It looks just stunning. Have an amazing time, I can’t wait to see some more of your adventures!

Leave a Reply

